On WorldCast

Just a heads up that I’ll be on WorldCast later today, 3pm Central / 4pm Eastern / 9pm London Free TV :...

Read More

Citizen Plumbing (It’s not quite Galaxy Zoo)

If, like me, you are eagerly awaiting the launch of galaxy Zoo 2, but not quite sure what to do in interim, I invite you to participate in a new citizen plumbing project dedicated to determining when (and why) the flame in the video below keeps going out. FlexMonkeyPatch “Pilot Episode,” is a program to figure out why my husband and I can’t always take hot showers. For mysterious reasons, at completely random intervals, our water heater’s pilot light fails. This usually happens in the middle of the night. Sometimes we’ll be okay for weeks, sometimes it will go out 3 times in 1 day. We’ve had the plumber out several times, and he hasn’t a clue. Having gotten sick and tired of traipsing in PJs from the 2nd floor bathroom to...

Read More

Making Google Gadgets Go

Making Google Gadgets Go

So, any of you who read my twitter know that I’ve been working on Portal to the Universe this week. Part of this is figuring out what goes into making astronomy tools (for fun and work) that can live on iGoogle pages and on normal webpages like this one. Today I managed, with a fair bit of frustration, to get two Google Gadgets to sort of go. I would like to state for the record that the Google Sandbox does not work equally elegantly in all themes. I would also like to say that caching can drive you crazy. Nonetheless, it is highly satisfying to code things that proclaim “Goodbye, World!” or “Delete World” instead of the normal “Hello, World!” It was a sarcastic day. Okay, whining over. Wanna see what I did? As I create...

Read More
Now live! Expect the Unexpected.
Currently offline.